Spring Walks  #184 & #185
Location:
Utica United Methodist Church 
8650 Canal Rd, 
Sterling Heights, MI 48314

Men's Walk #186  
10/17/2019 - 10/20/2019
Lay Director - Rich Hoy 
Women's Walk #187  
 10/24/2019 - 10/27/2019
Lay Director - Denise Sands
Walks #186 & #187     TRAINING DATES
Training day #1 - 9/14/2019 
Training day #2 - 9/21/2019 
Training day #3 - 10/05/2019

4th Day Reunion- 11/2/2019

Gordon Johnson - Community Lay Director:  cld@emsem.org
Peter Harris - Community Spiritual Director: csd@emsem.org
Assistant Community Lay Director:  acld@emsem.org
Brent Howlett - Treasurer: Treasurer@emsem.org
Mike Hall - Team Selection: Team@emsem.org
Paula Vergowven - Registrar: Registrar@emsem.org
Laura May - Reunion Groups / 4th Day:  4thDay@emsem.org
Cathy Montgomery - Candlelight: Clight@emsem.org
Rob Ramey - Site Selection: Sites@emsem.org
Spencer Schirs - Site Admin: Webservant@emsem.org

What is Emmaus?

We invite you to join in an inspiring experience during which you meet Jesus as he is revealed to you through other Christians. The Walk to Emmaus is a three-day experience of New Testament Christianity as a lifestyle. It is a highly structured event designed to strengthen and renew the faith of Christian people, and through them, their families, their congregations, and the world in which they live. Emmaus is a partnership between laity and clergy toward the renewal of the church.

A Journey with Christ

Luke relates the story of two disciples of Jesus who were going along the road from Jerusalem to Emmaus. As these two friends were walking together, they shared their heart’s deepest concerns about the death of Jesus. An unknown person, who was the risen Christ, joined them and explained the scriptures as they walked, how it was ordained that Christ would suffer and so enter his glory. Toward the end of the day’s travel, they urged the stranger to eat with them. The climax happened when Christ took bread and gave it to them. the two had their eyes opened and they recognized the stranger as the risen Christ. They rushed back to Jerusalem to tell the others. (Luke 24:13-35)

2019 Gatherings: